Orange Creamsicle Cookies

Living in Minnesota means long winters and chilly weather. As much as I complain about it, I don’t think I can ever leave this state. I love having all 4 seasons and not very many bugs(and the ones we have don’t get very big because they all die during winter). I just wish winter would last the months of December and January and then be done. Once February hits I’m ready for spring and warmer temps. Unfortunately I don’t think Mother Nature agrees with me, so instead I will dream of warmer weather and bake things that make me think of summer. Like these delightful and delicious Orange Creamsicle Cookies. They offer bright orange and creamy vanilla flavors that is reminiscent of the orange creamsicle ice cream bars I love to enjoy in the summer months.

They are always a hit when I bring them to gatherings. They are soft, plump and offer a surprise flavor. An accurate description of both the cookies AND myself. Ha! Anyway, here’s a snapshot of the ingredients.DSC_0046.JPGAll are pretty standard baking ingredients. Typically the only things I need to buy are the white chocolate chips and a couple oranges for the zest.

First thing I do is get that zest ready to go. Normally I have to do this myself but for this blog I conveniently had my 14 year old niece staying over so I put her to work and made her zest for me. Thanks Emma! The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of zest. I can usually get that out of one orange, but if they are smaller you may need two.DSC_0054.JPGOnce you’ve got your zest, make sure to heat up your oven, then get started on the rest of the recipe. This one starts off like most cookie recipes. Mix up flour, salt and baking soda and put that aside. Then cream together sugars and butter, add in egg and vanilla and then slowly add in the flour mixture. Once you’ve got your base then add in your chips and zest and mix in either by hand or using the stir function on your mixer.IMG_0564.jpgOnce you’ve got everything mixed together, drop rounded tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Don’t flatten the cookies, otherwise they’ll dry out. This is how they should look before baking.IMG_0565.jpgThen bake those little balls of goodness for 8-10 minutes. Let them cool for about 5 minutes on the cookie sheet after baking, otherwise they’ll fall apart. Then transfer to cooling rack until completely cool and store them in an airtight container. Your house will smell yummy and citrus-y for the rest of the day, bonus! They last about a week before drying out. But let’s be honest, they will never need to last that long because of how good they are. Bake yourself some and think of glorious summer days and warm weather. Enjoy!

Don’t forget to have a little fun today!

Orange Creamsicle Cookies

(Makes 24 Cookies)

IngredientsDSC_0058

  • 2 1/2 cups AP Flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks butter(refrigerated)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp orange zest(1-2 oranges)
  • 2 cups white chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. Beat butter and sugars until smooth.
  4. Add in egg and vanilla and blend together.
  5. Gradually add flour mixture until just combined.
  6. Stir in orange zest and white chocolate chips.
  7. Drop rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  8. Bake 8-10 minutes or until golden brown around edges. Careful not to over bake!
  9. Allow to set on cookie sheet for about 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack to cool completely.
  10. Store cookies in airtight container.

Leave a comment